Songs That Are Too Famous or Outplayed

Posted: November 14, 2011 by kingcrimsonprog in Uncategorized

The following is a list of songs that I have grown tired of, that I would no longer willingly or actively chose to listen to and that should they come on while I am in control of the music I would skip them nine times out of ten. I also don’t like it when local bands cover any of these tracks, when they pop up in advertisements or when the bands play them live (not that I begrudge them that at all, I just don’t care to listen anymore most times it happens.)

It is not a value judgement on any of them, just a statement of fact for list-making purposes and semi-joined with the How My Head Works articles in some way (Pattern Spotting, I guess). Some, I have listened to almost to death because I like them too much, some have been heard too much on radio/tv/pubs/concerts, some have been covered too much by local bands that I’ve seen… for whatever reason, I am currently sick of them.

Alien Ant Farm – Smooth Criminal
Audioslave – Cochise
Black Sabbath – Paranoid
Chimaira – Pure Hatred
The Darkness – Growing On Me, I Believe In A Thing Called Love
Disturbed – Down With The Sickness
Dire Straits – Walk Of Life
Drowning Pool – Bodies
Foo Fighters – Learn To Fly,
Green Day – American Idiot, Time Of Your Life, Boulevard Of Broken Dreams
Guns N Roses – Sweet Child O Mine, Live And Let Die, Knockin On Heaven’s Door
Iron Maiden – Number Of The Beast, Run To The Hills
Kiss – Rock N Roll All Nite, Crazy Nights, God Gave Rock N Roll To You Two
Kings Of Leon – Sex On Fire
Korn – Blind, A.D.I.D.A.S, Freak On A Leash,
Limp Bizkit – Rollin, Behind Blue Eyes
Linkin Park – Crawling, In The End
Lynyrd Skynyrd – Tuesdays Gone, Free Bird
Marilyn Manson – Sweet Dreams, The Beautiful People, The Nobodies, Tainted Love
Metallica – For Whom The Bell Tolls, Enter Sandman, Until It Sleeps, Whiskey In The Jar
Mudvayne – Happy?
Muse – Plug In Baby
Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit, Polly, Heart Shaped Box
Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody, Another One Bites The Dust, I Want To Break Free,
QOTSA – No One Knows
RATM – Killing In The Name, Bullet In The Head
The Sex Pistols – Anarchy In The UK, God Save The Queen
Slipknot – Duality, My Plague, Vermillion, Before I Forget
SOAD – Chop Suey
Sum 41 – In Too Deep
The Undertones – Teenage Kicks
Wheatus – Teenage Dirtbag, A Little Respect

The Following is a list of similar tracks, but where the skip ratio is only around fifty-fifty.

Arctic Monkeys – I Bet You Look Good On The Dance Floor, When The Sun Goes Down, Brian Storm
Babyshambles – Fuck Forever, Albion
Chimaira – Nothing Remains
Dirty Pretty Things – Bang Bang You’re Dead
The Fratellis – Chelsea Dagger
Foo Fighters – Monkey Wrench, All My Life, Best Of You
Green Day – Basket Case, Warning, Minority, Holiday
Guns N Roses – Paradise City, Welcome To The Jungle, November Rain
Led Zeppelin – Immigrant Song, Kashmir
The Libertines – Music When The Lights Go Out
Limp Bizkit – Faith, My Way, Take A Look Around
Linkin Park – One Step Closer, Paper Cut
Lynyrd Skynyrd – Sweet Home Alabama
Muse – Time Is Running Out, Hysteria, Supermasive Black Hole,
Marilyn Manson – The Dope Show, Mobscene, This Is The New Shit
Metallica – One
Nine Inch Nails – Closer
Nirvana – Come As You Are, In Bloom, Lithium, Pennyroyal Tea, All Apologies
Pearl Jam – Jeremy, Alive, Even Flow
Pink Floyd – Another Brick In The Wall Prt 2
Powerman 5000 – When Worlds Collide
Queen – Don’t Stop Me Now, A Kind Of Magic
Queens Of The Stone Age – Monsters In The Parasol, Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret, First It Giveth, Go With The Flow
RATM – Sleep Now In The Fire
Rammstein – Sonne
Slayer – Angel Of Death
Slipknot – Wait And Bleed, Spit It Out, Sulfur
Soil – Halo
Soulfly – Eye For An Eye, Bleed, Back To The Primitive
SOAD – Sugar, Spiders, Boom, B.Y.O.B
Sum 41 – Fat Lip

There are more songs than this, but this is at least pretty much is all of the ones that are still in my iTunes library (and a few I couldn’t resist adding to the list as well).

There are tracks by bands I never liked or bought music of but who were on all the time such as AC/DC, Blink 182, Def Leppard etc but I’ll not add them to the list as It’d be difficult to call them all to mind quickly enough, even though the reaction I’d have upon hearing them would be as strong or stronger than with some of the tracks that did get listed.

Leave a Reply

