FIRST IMPRESSIONS Updates:

Posted: February 24, 2013 by kingcrimsonprog in Uncategorized

Just a quick note on each album and how I feel about them. Its appraoching one year since I wrote the first one so I’ll just do a round up of my current opinions on each so far:

NON CLASSIC FI 27: Kittie – Spit – I just did this one today. My opinion is still the same.

GUEST BLOG – NON CLASSIC FI 26: Cradle Of Filth – The Manticore And Other Horrors – Magnum did this one, not me. I’ve never heard it.

FI 25: Avenged Sevenfold – City Of Evil – I’ve heard it two or three times now. Its alright. My flatmate always plays it when drunk. I think its his favourite album ever. I don’t mind it and won’t deliberately turn it off, but wouldn’t deliberatly put it on if I was on my own either.

FI 24: Children Of Bodom – Hate Crew Death Roll – I really like it. I’m not super familiar with it yet but its filed in my brain as ‘good.’ I’m definitely spending more time on it in the future.

FI 23: Prong – Cleansing – Its just Ok. Its an album I’d only listen to about half of and not very regularly.

FI 22: Black Label Society – 1919 Eternal – Surprisingly, I really enjoy this now. I’ve listened to it loads of times and gotten into the band. It was a slow process, but it happened. I like songs from it a lot more when they come on in shuffle or when I shuffle just-BLS songs than listening to it through though.

FI 21: Faith No More – The Real Thing – Its pretty good. I keep listening to Angel Dust and King For A Day’ way more often though. I like this a lot, but rarely choose to listen to it.

FI 20: Opeth – Blackwater Park – I have got into Opeth a lot more now. My favourite album of theirs is Watershed. I am not a giant fan I’ll admit, but I respect them. I’d like them more if I spent more time on it though.

FI 19: Gamma Ray – Land Of The Free – Its become one of my favourite albums. I listen to the first two tracks disproportionately more than the rest, but I like it all. I’ve gotten into the band. A lot.

FI 18: Savatage – Hall Of The Mountain King – Really good, and it got me into the band. I think I listen to their other stuff more often, but not on purpose if you know what I mean.

FI 17: Motörhead – Ace Of Spades – ‘Roadcrew is still a million times better than the rest, but I’ll stick it on fairly often.

FI 16: Angel Witch – S/T – I don’t listen to it that much. Its just ok.

FI 15: Diamond Head – Lightning To The Nations – I don’t listen to it that much. Its just ok. BUT. I DO listen to it a lot more and like it a lot more than Angel Witch. ‘Its Electric’ and ‘Shoot Out The Lights’ get fairly regular rotation on their own too.

FI 14: Cro-Mags – The Age Of Quarrel – I never listened to it again.

FI 13: Mercyful Fate – Don’t Break The Oath – Just can’t like it. I try every now and again, but I can’t seem to ever enjoy it.

FI 12: Neurosis – Times Of Grace – I never listened to it again.

Non-Classic-FI 11: I – Between Two Worlds – I rarely ever put it on.

FI 10: Nine Inch Nails – The Downward Spiral – I never listened to it again.

FI 09: Helloween – Keeper Of The Seven Keys 1 & 2 – This became one of my favourite albums ever (filing both as one there) and I listen to it all the bloody time. I have a vinyl copy on my wall as a poster. I absolutely love these albums. I haven’t tried another Helloween album yet though, due to all the line-up and stylistic shifts. I tried a few singles on their youtube channel and none did it for me like the Keepers do. I got into Gamma Ray though.

FI 08: Immortal – At The Heart Of Winter – I think I tried it again a few times and liked it, but mostly its went unlistened to.

FI 07: Carcass – Heartwork – I never listened to it again.

FI 06: Queensryche – Operation:Mindcrime – This became one of my favourite albums ever and I listen to it all the bloody time. I absolutely love it. I got into the band a whole damn lot too, they’re the artist I’ve listened to the most in the whole year.

Non-Classic-FI 05: Limp Bizkit – Gold Cobra – After about a month of listening to it I never listened to it again. However, I regularly listen to the track ‘Douchebag’ which I like a lot.

FI 04: Dream Theater – Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes From A Memory – I keep going back to it but not really getting it. I bought their Tokyo Blu Ray and am slowly becoming a fan. I’m planning on picking up some albums.

FI 03: Type O Negative – Bloody Kisses – I barely listened to it again. Just not for me.

FI 02: Mayhem – De Mysteriis Dom Sathanis – I never listened to it again (I think). And don’t intend to. I might’ve listenned to it again directly around the FI just to make sure, but it certainly never came back after about a month.

FI 01: At The Gates – Slaughter Of The Soul – I rarely listened to it again. Definitely not recently.

Leave a Reply

