Nice Even Number:

Posted: December 6, 2013 by kingcrimsonprog in Uncategorized

Regular readers will probably remember that I’m a fan of nice even numbers.

Last night when I was trying to get to sleep, I quickly checked amazon and noticed that my Helpful Votes had reached exactly 2,000. I was too sleepy to get up and take a screenshot, when I came back from work today however, it had gone to 2,001 and the moment was lost.
Then I noticed this, a double one.

On my way to and from work I had managed to scrobble my 1,000th song by both Rishloo and Five Finger Death Punch, and so here is a screenshot to commemorate the occasion:

Also, to save you squinting, the values of everything else in the screenshot are as follows:

1. Queensrÿche (2,748 plays)
2. Judas Priest (2,375 plays)
3. Monster Magnet (1,558 plays)
4. Coheed And Cambria (1,455 plays)
5. Clutch (1,398 plays)
6. Deep Purple (1,387 plays)
7. Gamma Ray (1,374 plays)
8. Helloween (1,215 plays)
9. Corrosion Of Conformity (1,162 plays)
10. Protest The Hero (1,111 plays)
11. Jethro Tull (1,110 plays)
12. Bring Me the Horizon (1,077 plays)
13. Queen (1,076 plays)
14. Arctic Monkeys (1,064 plays)
15. DevilDriver (1,052 plays)
16. Parkway Drive (1,039 plays)
17. Rishloo (1,000 plays)
18. Five Finger Death Punch (1,000 plays)

Also, just because 18 is an uncommon number in lists, here is numbers 19 & 20 for the sake of it:

19. Motörhead (930 plays)
20. Black Label Society (927 plays)

At the minute, with a very high Rishloo, Protest The Hero, Monster Magnet, Helloween and Gamma Ray I do feel it is a pretty good indicator of the sorts of things I like at the minute. A bit of Stoner, A bit of Power Metal, a bit of Classic stuff and a decent amount of modern stuff.

With the exception of possibly my favourite band ever, Jethro Tull however, there’s very little in the way of Prog, despite me listening almost exclusively to bands like Gentle Giant, King Crimson (how do you think I chose this username?), Yes, Genesis, Pink Floyd, Rush, Caravan, Camel, ELP, Van Der Graaf Generator etc. for about the entire of 2007-2009 almost until I got into Killswitch, Trivium and Lamb Of God for the first time and then started exploring Metalcore and the like, moving to a sort of one third each situation between Classic rock, Prog and Metal.

Since I only joined LastFM in the last few years, these statistics are only taken from what I’ve listened to in my own iTunes in the last three years. Its only taken from August 2010 onwards, and so it isn’t statistically accurate to my listening patterns as a whole, and there are bands like System Of A Down, Limp Bizkit, Slipknot and Green Day who I feel I’ve probably listened to in the multiples-of-thousands of times, but these figures aren’t represented here.

How cool would it be to have a technology that could account for everything you’d heard in your whole life?

Interestingly as well, Black label Society and Devildriver have very high listening stats in relation to how much I like them. I like both bands, but not as absolutely highly as their position would suggest. Bands that I love way more like Hatebreed, Mastodon, Megadeth, Maiden, Marillion, Pantera, The Libertines and many others are way lower despite me liking them way, way more.

Still, as it stands, its a really interesting picture of what I’ve been listening to in the last few years.

Leave a Reply

