Get (Into) What You Paid For: Round 4 – Day 61

Posted: September 30, 2014 by kingcrimsonprog in Uncategorized

Hello and welcome once more to yet another edition of my blog series, Get (Into) What You Paid For; a series in which I blog about music and media I own, to distract myself from the fact that I am sworn off buying anything new for a month (or in this case, two months).

Its day 61. 61 days without buying myself anything. That’s a successful double challenge. Two full months. I’m severely tempted to buy more Manowar albums because I’ve just discovered this month that I absolutely love Manowar.

I’m unsure whether today is the last day of the challenge. It was an extra month long already. I could pick up another Manowar album on Amazon for less than £2. …OR I could extend the challenge to an unprecedented three months in duration and see if I can go that long without cracking. I don’t know. I get to unwrap my Redeemer Of Souls birthday gift tomorrow (I stalled its opening by a month to help with the challenge) so maybe that’ll take the urge to buy away… but just… man, they’re selling Manowar albums so cheap… and I am really, really, really digging Manowar at the minute! Tough choice…

Anyway; This is going to be a short one, because I don’t have much time due to work commitments, so I’ll just say that in the last six days since I last posted one of these articles, I did NOT accidentally buy that Batman book. I did however read my Birthday gifts of:
1. Batman Odyssey: which was a bit rubbish if I’m being honest.
2. Ultimate Spiderman Ultimate Collection Volume 1: Which was sensational!
3. Daredevil Born Again: Which was pretty great too!

I’ve also listened to Motely Crue’s Girls Girls Girls an absolute ton of times and it now makes their entire first five albums make sense and I take them seriously as a real band now. In addition to Crue overplaying, I’ve broke the following out of semi-obscurity in the KCP playcount (I haven’t listened to these in a while, so now I have purposely went and listened to them this week so as to get my money’s worth):

Also, I’d just like to add that I’d like to buy the following 2nd hand on Vinyl for under £5 each to add to my wall for use as a poster:

Motley Crue – Shout At The Devil
WASP – WASP
Skid Row – Skid Row
GnR – Appetite’

Saxon – Strong Arm’ & Denim’
Diamond Head – Lightning’ (Black & Purple cover)
Iron Maiden – Number’ & ‘Mind
Judas Priest – Defenders’ & Ram It Down
Accept – Restless’ Balls’ & Metal Heart

Helloween – Keeper Part 2
Manowar – Kings Of Metal & Triumph Of Steel
Stratovarius – Visions

Slayer – Reign’, South’ & Seasons’
Megadeth – SFSGSW & Rust In Peace
Anthrax – Among The Living
Pantera – Cowboys’ & Vulgar’

Van Halen – II
Led Zeppelin – 1&4
Deep Purple – Fireball
Thin Lizzy – Black Rose
Kiss – Love Gun
Black Sabbath – Black Sabbath

Caravan – In The Land Of Grey & Pink
ELP – Brain Salad Surgery

Pink Floyd – Wish’ Animals, & The Wall
Camel – Mirage
Jethro Tull – Aqualung
Genesis – Tresspass & Nursery Crime
King Crimson – Court’ Larks Tongues’ Starless’ & Red

Ok. See you later folks. I’ll update you later as to whether or not I’m continuing the challenge!

Leave a Reply

