My Taste Since August 2010:

Posted: November 24, 2014 by kingcrimsonprog in Uncategorized

Apropos of nothing, except perhaps that I’ve not been blogging much since the summer ended, here is a list of all the bands that I’ve listened to more than 1000 songs from since I joined LastFm in August 2010:

Queensrÿche (3,166 plays)
Judas Priest (2,754 plays)
Helloween (1,979 plays)
Arctic Monkeys (1,824 plays)
Monster Magnet (1,772 plays)
Gamma Ray (1,766 plays)
Protest the Hero (1,759 plays)
Coheed and Cambria (1,585 plays)
Clutch (1,543 plays)
Deep Purple (1,455 plays)
Motörhead (1,386 plays)
Corrosion of Conformity (1,322 plays)
Jethro Tull (1,221 plays)
Black Label Society (1,194 plays)
Ozzy Osbourne (1,193 plays)
Megadeth (1,174 plays)
Bring Me the Horizon (1,164 plays)
Five Finger Death Punch (1,137 plays)
DevilDriver (1,132 plays)
Queen (1,122 plays)
Parkway Drive (1,112 plays)
Rishloo (1,061 plays)
Savatage (1,055 plays)
Machine Head (1,034 plays)
W.A.S.P. (1,014 plays)
Mastodon (1,006 plays)

Its a good healthy mix of traditional, prog, stoner and core, with some prog rock and classic rock in there. Sounds pretty accurate to me.

Since it only starts in August 2010 (not too long after starting this blog if memory serves), it doesn’t take into account the billions of times I listened to Pop Punk, Nu Metal and Thrash Metal tracks from really getting into music in about 1999/2000, or the absolutely huge multi-year long phases for Led Zeppelin, Slipknot or Napalm Death that anyone who remembers me from School would associate with me.

But anyway, that’s the business. 26 bands that I listened to more than 1,000 tracks by. Its been a busy 4 years!

Also, here’s who I’ve seen live in the flesh since that time (ignoring support bands I didn’t know about anyway):

Chimaira/Revoker
Monster Magnet
Down
Hatebreed
Korpiklaani/Metsatoll
Bob Dylan
The Sunshine Underground
Megadeth
Babyshambles
The Frattelis
Children Of Bodom/Napalm Death/Insomnium
Karnivool
Queensryche
Bring Me The Horizon
Architects
Lamb Of God
Killswitch Engage/Trivium
Riverside
Protest The Hero
Clutch
Soil/American Headcharge/Hed PE
Animals As Leaders
Tesseract – (three times)

Oh, and I bought tickets for: Motorhead/Saxon – this got cancelled.
Amon Amarth/Carcass – I forgot to go. Straight up forgot. Woops.

And I’m going to see before xmas: Mastodon, Protest The Hero, Saxon and Machine Head.

Well, there you go. That’s me and music since mid 2010. In all this time, I’ve went through massive life transitions, finished a university degree with honours and started another one, moved all over the country, taken up reading comics, stopped playing the drums for nearly four years, lost my identity as someone who is “in bands,” taken up and identity as someone who likes to lift weights, expanded my mind and gotten into Hair Metal, seen girlfriends come and go, found true love and a career calling … but one thing will never change… I am a huge nerd for Heavy Metal… and they’ll bury me to the tune of Tool’s “10,000 Days (Wings Prt 2)” if my wishes are upheld.

G’night.

Comments
  1. Hahaha I can honestly say I’ve never forgot to go to a gig. That’s brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t mind to laugh so much at you missing the gig though. Feel bad for you too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mikeladano says:

    Wow, lots of bands here I don’t know, but lots I love. Your top two alone are impressive enough. And Deep Purple cracked the top 10.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

