Get (Into) What You Paid For – Volume 5, No. 7: Day 70:

Posted: February 9, 2015 by kingcrimsonprog in Get (Into) What You Paid For

Seventy long days. Its been 70 long days since I started this extended challenge. I’ve came close to breaking a few times this week, hopping on Amazon just to see how much they’re selling whatever record takes my whim at that moment (Why is Superfuzz Bigmuff by Mudhoney never going for £3 used like every other Grunge album ever?) or eBay to see if anyone’s selling whatever comic book I thought of at any given moment (why is no one selling Batman:Officer Down or Batman:War Drums?).

I haven’t broke though. I’ve got the hang of this. I think the perfect storm of Uni deadlines, postgraduate job searches, starting a new job and refocused efforts on physical fitness are putting entertainment towards the back of my mind more than usual. That and I’ve been merrily ploughing through Ultimate Spiderman (I’m past The Clone Saga now!) and its been so long and persistent that it takes up the majority of the free entertainment time left.

The week of Grunge continues, with me breaking out the Alice In Chains acoustic stuff, demos and B Sides. I’ve also added in a whole bunch of Hair Metal.

After watching Sebastian Bach acting in Gilmore Girls, it made me break out Skid Row. That made me break out Poison. That made me break out Dokken. That made me break out WASP, Motley Crue, Quiet Riot and Twisted Sister. That made me break out Guns N Roses. I know you could argue about genre with each of them, but they’re stuck together in my mind and one follows the other. Its been a fun cheesy week. Its nice to listen to Grunge and Glam at the same time. They compliment each-other. When one gets to cheesy, the other makes things feel more refined. When one gets to mopey, the other makes things feel more fun. Balance between the two makes for good listening.

Anyway; Since I seem to have made this a bit of a recurring theme as of late, I thought I’d post another one. I sometimes like to reorder albums which I do not feel flow perfectly. I have a few preferences for how albums should flow.

One is the arch, which is that you start and end soft, with the hardest part in the center. You can substitute the word “hard” for anything, be it “fast,” “heavy,” “commercial,” “memorable,” whatever… just a peak in the middle, and a warm up and cool down either side.

The other is the mountain climber. This is that you start off at lowest intensity and end at highest intensity. Calm to hectic. Soft to Heavy. Slow to Fast.

My favorite form, by far, however is the landslide. This is where you front-load an album with all the punchiest, most direct and easily enjoyable tracks first, and collect all the most similar tracks together. If its an ’80s album, you start off with the album highlight first and follow it up with all the songs that sound like Speed Metal, and then end it on the ballad, with any slow tracks after the speed and before the ballad.  It feels like skiing downhill. It makes your brain appreciate the more thoughtful stuff after its got its fill of easy pleasures.

That’s how I’ve reordered Twisted Sister’s You Can’t Stop Rock N Roll. Anything that sounds like Judas Priest towards the front, anything that sounds like Kiss towards the back. It really makes the (already good) album seem somehow so much better for me.

Comments
  1. nicksalbumreviews says:

    I’m really liking this series now.

    In my post later on this month, you’ll see a bunch of records that I’ve gone and re-visited.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

