Greatest Hits Series Vol. 9 – Clutch

Posted: December 23, 2015 by kingcrimsonprog in Uncategorized

Inspired by the entertaining blogs of the excellent wordpress blogger Nick’s Album Reviews, I’ve decided to join in the fun, and copy his Greatest Hits blog formula and match the bands chosen with my own personal taste (select my personal favourite 10 tracks by the band that would feel like a good greatest hits cd).
This time around is all about Clutch. Here we go:

10.
Short, Sweet, punchy and amusing lyrics. Everything I love in a Clutch tune.
09.
That riff, so unbelievably fun, when they drop this live it causes a smile to burst across my face quicker than any other scenario.
08.
The best song on Jam Room, and I absolutely love the ‘come here quickly he’s lost his mind’ hook. .
07.
Rip-roaring. A real burst of energy.
06.
You know when a band’s most popular song actually deserves its reputation? If you don’t like this song, then you have no soul!
05.
That guitar in the chorus! Awwwwwwwww.
04.
Very amusing lyrics. Very good song.
03.
Sooo lively and rousing. Almost any track from this album would do, but that chorus! Good god!

02.
I think when he repeats the word crucial it makes the song even better. And that solo, perfect!
01.
I’ve referenced this so many times this year, you already know how much I love that whole ‘it goes against my catholic upbringing bit.

Also…as a cheeky bonus, since it didn’t get represented within the list, I’d add what I would’ve done if I had enough tracks to fit their debut in too.
11.
Arguably before they found their sound, but this is one of the best on the debut.

Leave a Reply

